Fear of blogging

09Sep08

I recently updated the Green + Chic blog that was formerly located on a WordPress.com platform. Its now connected to my site using Wordpres.org.  Exciting huh?

The problem is, I haven’t written much on my blog since I started it. I guess I am a bit timid when it comes to blog writing: fear of misspellings, grammatical errors, fear of not being exciting or dynamic enough, fear of disagreements with the content, and so on.  I read blogs by bloggers who know how to write good content, are clever and funny and can generate a large following.  Also, they have something to write about – all the time!  At least four days a week on average.  I’m good to write once a month.

How can I be a better blogger for my business, especially if the success of Green + Chic depends largely on my blogging skills to generate traffic? I checked out a book from the library (I really don’t need to buy more books right now) on the subject.  Hopefully this will give me the boost I need.

Clear Blogging by Bob Walsh

Also reading blogs is helpful for me too sometimes. The less I read, the less I write (and want to write).

Wish me luck!

2 Responses to “Fear of blogging”

  1. You know, it took me some time to find my “blogging voice”. My early posts are not nearly as good as the more recent ones. In fact, some of them are pretty bad!

    Try to make a deal with yourself to blog once a week. When that day comes, sit down, write, edit and publish – no matter what. I think you will find that once you write regularly, your writing improves significantly. Good luck!

  2. Great advice! I think I can commit to twice a week at this point. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

