Hesitation is Sometimes a Good Thing

28May08

Though I came up with this idea a little over a year ago, I am just now working at it more diligently – and thats probably a good thing. I had so many misconceptions about business, eCommerce and becoming a web entrepreneur when this idea first started rolling around in my brain. I would have made many costly mistakes had I quickly acted without doing enough research on the business and industry.

Some misconceptions I had:

  • I would need tens of thousands of dollars to get started.
  • Once I got the site up and running, customers would automatically flock to my site. “If you build it, they will come.”
  • I needed to do everything myself (website, marketing, writing, etc)
  • I will need to spend a hideous amount of time a day to start a business ( in addition to my full-time job)

None of those are true (from what I learned)- I hope! It will take work, research, funds and patience, but it also requires a different approach than what we’re used to – at least for most of us. Moving a bit slower also helped me know if this is what I want to do or not. Taking your time (at first) isn’t necessarily a bad thing.

I will later write about some of the specific steps I made over the past year and some of the resources/information I found that helped me.

One Response to “Hesitation is Sometimes a Good Thing”

  1. 1 EPORIA

    Taking your time at first isn’t necessarily a bad thing to say the least. Would you want to go to any other professional such as a doctor or lawyer that just jumped into opening a practice without any prior knowledge or education? They would probably be miserable failures, huh? Sounds like you’re on the right track for long-term success.


Leave a Reply

