How long should blog posts be?

06Jun08

One of the ways I am promoting my business is by blogging.  I currently have a blog that I recently started for greenandchic.com which will keep customers and potential customers in the loop about the business itself, products I am offering and general information about ingredients. 

I am very new to blogging so I am no expert at it – yet.  My question is, how long ideally should blog posts be, especially blogs related to your business?  I do a fair amount of blog reading and sometimes get turned off by super long posts.  Maybe I am just a bit impatient. 🙂

If you blog daily, should post be shorter? (<300 words)

If you blog weekly, should you beef it up a bit? (>1000)

I don’t have a lot of readers right now so this question is more rhetorical. Ha!

 

5 Responses to “How long should blog posts be?”

  1. 1 Dea

    Hi Barose,
    you have 1 reader for sure me 🙂
    I think that a couple of paragraphs no more than 500 words is plenty for a blog. The really long winded blogs tend to lose me after a while.

    I wish you the very best for your business, I am still not quite sure what products or services you will be offering. The last time I checked out your website I think it said to check back soon so I will do so, have a wonderful weekend and ciao 🙂 Dea xo

  2. I think for a business blog should be 300-1000 words… and for personal blog it can be just one paragraph or 100 words 🙂

  3. 300-1000 does sound good. I guess it depends on what you’re writing about too. 🙂

    Thanks Dea and goblogging!

  4. 4 EPORIA

    A good resource for writing like a blogger can be found at http://sethgodin.typepad.com/seths_blog/2008/04/write-like-a-bl.html
    Hope this helps!

  5. Great blogging tips! Thanks.


Leave a Reply

